Skip to content
Bolton Counts — Bolton, in numbers.Local help →

Bolton, in numbers

People and living standards

Bolton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bolton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 261,349 in 1991 to 309,732 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bolton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 260,056 people in 1996; 309,732 people in 2025. 19.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991261,349
1992261,586
1993261,885
1994261,493
1995260,872
1996260,056
1997259,709
1998260,882
1999260,396
2000260,183
2001261,302
2002262,367
2003263,814
2004264,511
2005265,016
2006266,816
2007268,319
2008270,497
2009273,049
2010275,168
2011277,296
2012279,738
2013281,629
2014283,212
2015284,972
2016287,253
2017289,684
2018291,594
2019294,888
2020295,712
2021296,169
2022299,591
2023304,761
2024308,904
2025309,732
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bolton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 57,394 people in 1996; 65,641 people in 2025. 14.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,872
199257,181
199357,673
199457,729
199557,684
199657,394
199757,299
199857,153
199957,297
200056,978
200156,695
200256,342
200356,342
200456,162
200555,958
200655,913
200755,956
200856,117
200956,578
201056,870
201157,185
201258,097
201358,714
201459,253
201560,135
201661,129
201762,430
201863,003
201963,834
202063,865
202163,539
202264,352
202365,394
202466,120
202565,641
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bolton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 163,303 people in 1996; 190,964 people in 2025. 16.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991164,704
1992164,626
1993164,515
1994164,162
1995163,610
1996163,303
1997163,143
1998164,522
1999164,188
2000164,376
2001165,659
2002167,138
2003168,357
2004169,085
2005169,716
2006171,384
2007172,635
2008173,927
2009175,203
2010176,244
2011177,266
2012177,230
2013177,197
2014177,107
2015177,335
2016178,027
2017178,534
2018179,158
2019180,808
2020181,271
2021181,627
2022183,732
2023187,445
2024190,293
2025190,964
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bolton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 39,359 people in 1996; 53,127 people in 2025. 35% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,773
199239,779
199339,697
199439,602
199539,578
199639,359
199739,267
199839,207
199938,911
200038,829
200138,948
200238,887
200339,115
200439,264
200539,342
200639,519
200739,728
200840,453
200941,268
201042,054
201142,845
201244,411
201345,718
201446,852
201547,502
201648,097
201748,720
201849,433
201950,246
202050,576
202151,003
202251,507
202351,922
202452,491
202553,127
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 295,960 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh59,59620.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African11,2383.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,6432.2%
White212,94171.9%
Other ethnic group5,5421.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 276,786 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White226,64581.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,8921.8%
Asian/Asian British38,74914%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,6521.7%
Other ethnic group1,8480.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 261,037 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White232,36689%
Mixed2,5421%
Asian/Asian British23,6449.1%
Black/Black British1,6070.6%
Chinese/Other8780.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bolton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,021 per person in 1997; £20,182 per person in 2024. 101.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,021
199810,030
199910,551
200011,062
200111,330
200211,524
200311,772
200412,281
200512,616
200613,029
200713,584
200813,699
200913,872
201013,976
201114,007
201214,368
201314,732
201414,986
201515,212
201615,140
201715,613
201815,887
201916,323
202016,388
202117,073
202218,123
202319,043
202420,182
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bolton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.6% in 1997; -22.3% in 2024. 16.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bolton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.6
1998-7.4
1999-6.7
2000-7.1
2001-8.4
2002-8.9
2003-9.7
2004-9.5
2005-10.3
2006-11
2007-11.5
2008-13
2009-13.4
2010-13.5
2011-14
2012-14.9
2013-15.9
2014-17.1
2015-20
2016-21.4
2017-20.8
2018-22.2
2019-22.5
2020-21.9
2021-21.8
2022-21.1
2023-22.1
2024-22.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54%

21 March 2021 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.7%

21 March 2021 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.6%

21 March 2021 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.1%

21 March 2021 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£204,000

July 2026 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£894

August 2026 · Bolton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.